Our Board

How are we governed?
Natspec is governed through a board of directors, with half representing members in the region and half taking responsibility for a policy area. The Chief Executive is responsible for the strategic guidance and operational leadership of the Association and for the preparation and implementation of the Strategic Plan.

What does Natspec do?
Natspec’s mission is to promote specialism and personalisation as part of a mixed economy of provision.  Natspec’s role is to:

  • act as a national voice for its members
  • promote members through its bi-annual directory
  • inform member organisations via briefings, events, conferences and networking opportunities
  • make representations to government departments, funding agencies and other stakeholders to influence policy and legislation for young people and adults with learning difficulties and/or disabilities
  • develop partnerships and projects and maintain professional links with other organisations
  • provide advice and guidance to young people, their families and supporters who are considering a placement at a member college.

Although Natspec does not regulate or inspect colleges, it strongly promotes the very highest standards of education and care. All Natspec colleges are inspected by Ofsted and individual reports can be found at www.ofsted.gov.uk

Natspec Board members

Regional Directors:
NW – Pam Murphy, Scope Beaumont College
YH/NE – Angela North, Henshaws College
EM/EE – June Murray, RNIB College Loughborough
WM – Hugh Williams, QAC
Wales – Kirsten Jones, Coleg Elidyr
GL – Ashley Jordan-Diaper, Orchard Hill College
SE – Amanda Bolt, Mount Camphill
SW – Rob Bates, Farleigh College Frome
Policy Directors:
Quality – Bernie White, Seashell
Employment – Tracey Clare-Gray, Foxes Academy
Care – Lynette Barratt, National Star
PR/Media – tbc
Technology – Dawn Greeen, the Karten Network
Public Affairs/lobbying – Christopher Walden, Head of Public Affairs, MacMillan Cancer Support
LAs and commissioning – Tina Pagett, Fairfield Farm College
Wider sector/associates – Kathryn Rudd, Aurora